Why does time seem to speed up as we get older? – Features – Health & Families – The Independent

25 Jul

Why does time seem to speed up as we get older? – Features – Health & Families – The Independent.

this one gives all the reasons why old people feels that time speeds up with age.

firstly is it really true that all of us old people feel time goes faster?

recently i heard that it is 3 yrs since the britain hosted the olympics, and yes, i remember exclaiming was it that long ago?  so it does feel as if time has sped by.

but i have another explanation of why it seems to go faster or slower. yes, i disagree that it always goes faster… sometimes i get the feeling it goes slower. it depands. and my theory is that when we go old, we dont work anymore and so we lose track of time. when each day is like another, we lose track of time… and then we feel it faster or slower according to how we feel about that thing that happened in the past.

to me the olympics seem to be quite a short time in the past. some might even say 3 yrs is really a short time. but i have lost track of time, since i dont work, nor do i celebrate my birthday or any special day. so each day merges into another and i have no  sense of the years going by.

i have lived in this flat since 1991, yet i dont feel as if i have lived here a long time. partly because the decor is the same as when i moved in. nothing have changed. even the outside is the same. so it feels as if i have lived here a short time. but almost 25yrs have passed by.

i think children makes u really notice the years passing. i have no children, so dont get constantly reminded that the years are moving. but i get an inkling of the years passing when i occasionally meet my neighbour and see his kid coming and going.  i have seen him grow up from a toddler in his pram, sleeping away, to a talkative kid now talking his children talk which only he understands. haha.

 

14 Responses to “Why does time seem to speed up as we get older? – Features – Health & Families – The Independent”

  1. Kevin Loewe Sunday July 26, 2015 at 3:20 am #

    I can feel that time is getting faster and faster, I think that’s because when don’t have too much things to do in the past, especially when I was a child. The only thing I could do is to stay with my grandma in the morning, and in the afternoon, I could go out to play some games with other children, then go to sleep. I always wanted to grow up faster and faster. But now, we have tons of things to do everyday, that makes you can not feel the time flowing. It always happen to me that, I think I did not do anything yet, but it is already mid night. Especially we got smartphones to play with, we got computers to entertain with. I always think even there are 48 hours and I have four hands, it still can not finish all what I want to do……

    • alifesgayventure Sunday July 26, 2015 at 6:14 am #

      so it is not only the old who feel time is going faster. everyone is feeling that time is going faster because of the internet… when you are online, time goes very fast. maybe the sign of going old is when you feel time is slowing down, that nothing changes. so the article may be wrong, they should be asking why do old people feel time is slowing down. haha. old people have a lot in common with the very young, and to the very young time stands still, eating and sleeping, all day, and everyday, and that’s it. so is old age like that too? i think so, but it has to be very old age.

      • Kevin Loewe Sunday July 26, 2015 at 11:05 am #

        In China, old people usually live with young people together. They take care of their grand children while their children works, who have no time to look after their children, so they have something else to do here except eating and sleeping.😁

      • alifesgayventure Sunday July 26, 2015 at 12:26 pm #

        hey, u forget that the old people only have one grandchild. haha. so they only have to look after one child while the parents are at work. those children will be spoilt. what about u, did your grandparents spoil you when u were growing up?

      • Kevin Loewe Sunday July 26, 2015 at 2:45 pm #

        That’s not true. China only started the one-family-one-child policy by the 1980s, and it only effective to the citizens. For those who live at the country side, they still can have 2 chilren. Yes I was spoiled by my grandma when I was very young.😌

      • alifesgayventure Sunday July 26, 2015 at 3:01 pm #

        interesting that the country people can have 2 children. i think most of us in the west dont know that. do you have a brother or sister? i have 4 brothers and 1 sister.

      • Kevin Loewe Sunday July 26, 2015 at 3:32 pm #

        Yes because the country families need more labours to work for them. Also, China has 56 ethnics but the policy is only effective to the Han ethnic, if you are not a Han people, you can have 2 children too. Han ethnic has too much people so the key point to control the population is to control the population of Han ethnic. Unfortunately, my father is Han ethnic and we live in the city so my family can not have 2 children or more. My mother is not Han ethnic, I was registered based on my mother’s ethnic, so I can have 2 children, but, you know, I am gay……

      • Kevin Loewe Sunday July 26, 2015 at 3:33 pm #

        I am very jealous of you people who have brothers or sisters. I always want one since I was a Child……

      • Kevin Loewe Monday July 27, 2015 at 2:00 pm #

        hi friend, do you have an instagram account? maybe you can browse my instagram page to see photo I posted about SZ, in English, my account name is kevinloewe.😊

      • alifesgayventure Monday July 27, 2015 at 2:06 pm #

        hi kevin, so sorry i dont have an instagram account. i dont have a smartphone, that is why i dont have an instagram account. i tried to install it in my google chrome app, but it wont allow it.

      • Kevin Loewe Monday July 27, 2015 at 2:17 pm #

        that’s ok, you can still visit the web version of instagram.

      • alifesgayventure Monday July 27, 2015 at 2:25 pm #

        i thought i could but it wont let me in unless i sign up using the smartphone. i cannot even sign up using my chrome . there dont seem to be an app for it in my chrome. do u know of a link , with url, that i can open and get in via my chrome laptop?

      • Kevin Loewe Monday July 27, 2015 at 2:48 pm #

        Sorry I never noticed that instagram can not be registered by PC. I just googled it and it seem the easiest way to register is to use your friend’s smartphone if you don’t have one, haha.

  2. alifesgayventure Sunday July 26, 2015 at 4:12 pm #

    there is another advantage to having brothers, no pressure on me to marry and have kids to get grandchildren for the parents. but u have a dilemma. what to do?

Leave a Reply

