message from rick riordan

6 Oct

london 3.05pm tuesday

I am a huge fan of rick riordan, i like everything he wrote, and i got this email from goodreads from him. he is doing the same thing with the norse gods next novel. it will be interesting to see how he does it, and if it is as well as he did the greek gods it would be a cracking read. 

Welcome to Valhalla!

Let me introduce you to Magnus Chase, a new young hero in my brand new series. Ever since his mother’s mysterious death, sixteen year-old Magnus has been living alone on the streets of Boston. One day, he learns something shocking and impossible; his father is a Norse god. After that, things get very complicated.

I got the idea for Magnus Chase when I was still working on The Sea of Monsters. What if a modern boy died a warrior’s death and ended up in Valhalla, like the Vikings of old? What would Valhalla look like in the 21st century? At the time, I was too busy with Percy Jackson, but the idea for Magnus Chase sat with me, gathering momentum and waiting for the proper moment to be written.

I’m pleased to share with you Magnus’s first adventure inThe Sword of Summer. I feel like I have come full-circle. I finally get to honour the Norse myths, which started me on my path as a writer. I hope you enjoy reading the novel as much as I enjoyed writing it!

Yours in Vikingness,
Rick Riordan

4 Responses to “message from rick riordan”

  1. Clayton the Page Turner Tuesday October 6, 2015 at 8:15 pm #

    Got the same email. Sitting in my Kindle Library is now Sword of Summer, but I have so many books to read ahead of it! *cries*

    • alifesgayventure Tuesday October 6, 2015 at 8:17 pm #

      oh, you are quick. like you i have so many books to read … help!

      • Clayton the Page Turner Tuesday October 6, 2015 at 8:28 pm #

        I bought it last night. I have not gotten Shadows of Self by Sanderson yet tho.

      • alifesgayventure Tuesday October 6, 2015 at 8:43 pm #

        better read those u got, instead of getting more. what say you? cant imagine how u can resist the temptation to read the latest rick riordan.i would read the latest one by rick riordan as soon as i got it, cant resist that. haha they are easy books to read.

Leave a Reply

