liz jones and the gas man

21 Feb

london 7.34am 12C, (very mild) sunday 2016

as i sit in my flat, looking out on a grey cloudy day, so that today there is no rosy glow in the sky , which would happen about now as the sun is rising; though it is so warm, i dont mind not seeing this glowing sky.haha.

i read in the daily mail liz jones’ saga with her gas boiler. she says it is -12C where she lives, somewhere in the yorkshire dales. (i thought she had sold that and come back to london to live, but maybe she cannot come back to london. prices have gone beyond her.)

‘What are you doing?’

‘I can’t switch this on – the valve outside has corroded.’

‘Well, it was OK before you got here. Can’t you replace the valve?’

‘I’m not authorised to work outside.’

‘What? I’ve seen all the adverts, where British Gas makes me safe on my own planet. Your van has a sign that says, “Looking after your world.” It should read, “Looking after your boiler indoors.” ’

‘You have to have a gas-registered engineer to replace it.’

‘Well what on earth are you?’

‘We just do boilers.’

but reading her it reminded me how happy i am that i got rid of the gas meter, and disconnected myself from the gas supply. i dont have to deal with the gas ‘engineers’ ever again. what joy!!

2 Responses to “liz jones and the gas man”

  1. Sarah M Monday February 22, 2016 at 12:05 pm #

    Yeah gas is always problematic. Before I was allowed to rent my flat out I had to take out a repair insurance policy. I hate those kinds of insurance, whatever goes wrong there always seems to be a loophole so they don’t have to do it. And that’s 14.50 a month I won’t see again.

  2. alifesgayventure Monday February 22, 2016 at 12:23 pm #

    oh, u dont know the half of it, u have to have it regularly serviced every year, and get a certificate to prove it. that is going to cost. i bet that repair insurance do not cover the yearly certificate. and if anything do go wrong the gas man will say it needs a new one. and if u insist u want it repaired they will quote u so that it comes to the same amount as replacing it with a new one. it is a lose-lose situation. and to add insult to injury they will charge u £80 just to come to your flat to tell u it needs a new one. it happened to me.

Leave a Reply

