gout ( latest, not gout, it is an infection.)

23 Mar

london 2.26pm thursday 2017 11C cloudy .

i have been diagnosed with gout. i saw the doctor yesterday wednesday 22nd,at about 3.15pm. it all started on tuesday but only got worse overnight so that by wednesday morning i was so bad, simon offered to take me to the surgery by car. it was raining too, so i was rather glad for the lift. we hope to be seen straight away , a forlorn hope, they were all busy, of course,so the receptionist said go home and the doctor will call me. he called me about 1.30pm, and said he can fit me in at 3.15pm the same day.

 what a strange thing to have, in that i always thought people who drink red wine and eat a lot of cheese are the ones to get it. i dont normally eat cheese, and i dont drink. though a few days ago my friend from usa made me a cheese omelet, and he likes cheese so he might have put a lot of cheese in there. but still, you would not expect just one meal of cheese to give u gout.

its a painful condition, affecting my left foot. not the big toe, which is the usual spot, but the ball of the foot. it is only painful when i touch it or put my weight on it. it got so swollen at one point i could not wear my trainer on it, and have to wrap a plastic bag over my foot and  have to hobble to the bus stop to catch the bus which takes me to the doctor’s surgery, which fortunately was just near the bus stop.

the doctor took a look and said it is either infection or gout. and he wrote a prescription for gout, and took a blood sample. he said if the blood test comfirms it is gout, i carry on with the medicine, if not and it turns out to be an infection, then he will give me an antibiotic.

i think it is more likely to be gout. makes u wonder if we can prevent these things. looks like we cannot really, no matter if we abstain from drinking, or eating cheese. so might as well continue to eat and drink. no point depriving yourself of these things if u like them. i dont like them, so it wont be much hardship for me to get rid of cheese and wine from my diet. but if it has effect on me getting gout, i doubt abstaining from it will improve matters. i think we dont really know what causes the build up of uric acid which is the culprit. 

Gout is caused by the buildup of too much uric acid in the body. Uric acid comes from the breakdown of substances called purines. Purines are found in all of your body’s tissues. They are also in many foods, such as liver, dried beans and peas, and anchovies.

no mention of red wine there. or cheeses. but i dont eat those things they mentioned either. so for some reason my kidney is not getting rid of the uric acid. i hope it is not a sign of some kidney malfunction.

so that is why i have not been very active. i am glad for the nhs, i got the medicines, 3 lots of them, free. there was a sign saying each prescription costs £8 something. i dont know if it is for each medicine, or for one form listing all three medicines. but anyway they never ask me to pay for it. thank goodness for that. 

i still need to hobble about the flat and did not feel like making my usual trip to the library. i am glad my flat is a one level flat, and there are no stairs to climb inside it. i wonder if others get gout too, and that it is just old age catching up on us. for someone like me who dont have any medical problems, it really shows me i am getting old.

added. 7.09pm,  i just now read the text message sentby the doctor. it says the blood test shows no urate. so it is not gout. but an infection, and they ask me to go and get the prescription antibiotic. but it is too late to go today. they sent it on 10.11am this morning, wish i had thought of checking my mobile for messages from them. i could have gone to the surgery today and be taking the antibiotics now instead of waiting till next morning. i have noticed the swelling is much bigger now. 

Leave a Reply

